Thursday, August 25, 2011

False Labor

Friday, August 5th I was in severe pain.  I was up in my bedroom, sobbing, in pain.  I couldn't figure out what or why I was in pain but it was AWFUL pain.  I told my husband who said I might be in labor (what? over a month early, no way) and I said no way.  I went back upstairs and tried to talk myself out of being in pain.  Tried to convince myself that it wasn't as bad as I thought and in between I would be sobbing because of how badly it hurt.


FINALLY, an hour later, we went to the hospital.  


We get to admissions and they said they were short staffed and we'd have to walk ourselves to Labor and Delivery.  It was a long walk and I was in a ton of pain but we managed.  Fortunately, for me, my husband keeps calm during these situations and manages to crack way too many bad jokes for me to think too much about how much pain I'm in.  


We get to Labor & Delivery and they act like I'm "crazy" and that I'm, of course, not in labor.  I get it, that women are crazy during pregnancy but I didn't know one way or another and it wasn't like I was THRILLED to be at the hospital at 1am so they probably could have been a little nicer.  


Went in a room, laid in a bed and waited.  Someone came in to talk to me for a minute and then we waited more.  They finally took some samples and told me I wasn't in labor and my cervix was closed.  That was fine, I was ready to go home at this point (almost two hours later) but then they wanted me to stay, have a Popsicle and see how the baby reacted to the sugar, to make sure he was doing okay too.  What?  I don't even like Popsicle sand at this point I just wanted to go home and go to bed.  Nope, had to eat the Popsicle.  


Another half hour later and they came in to tell me I could go home, that I looked fine and the baby looked fine but that they would send along some of the samples to see if there was any infections, bacteria, etc...


Little did I know..........

No comments:

Post a Comment