I had gotten up to pee, probably six times in the middle of the night, this was typical for my nights. i would stumble from bed to the bathroom, all the lights off, pee (not flush) and head back to bed. This was my night for the last six months so tonight was no different, until about 4am.
As I'm laying in bed I feel water pour out into my underwear, it was like NOTHING I've felt, so I "knew" what that meant. I walked to the bathroom, more leaking, and then flipped on the light in the bathroom to figure out what was going on.
As I'm laying in bed I feel water pour out into my underwear, it was like NOTHING I've felt, so I "knew" what that meant. I walked to the bathroom, more leaking, and then flipped on the light in the bathroom to figure out what was going on.
My underwear were covered in a bloody liquid and the toilet had a mix of water/blood that was NOT a comforting sight.
I yelled for my husband, who didn't hear my until my fifth or sixth yell, at which point I was frantic. He came in and was immediately a little freaked out by the sight of blood during pregnancy (remember our experience with blood during pregnancy) and he went into action to get us going to the hospital.
I yelled for my husband, who didn't hear my until my fifth or sixth yell, at which point I was frantic. He came in and was immediately a little freaked out by the sight of blood during pregnancy (remember our experience with blood during pregnancy) and he went into action to get us going to the hospital.
We knew that the best idea was to CALL FIRST to Labor & Delivery and let them know we were heading it. Last time we didn't and you would have thought we were lunatics the way they talked to us about needing to call first. I was on my phone with one DR and my husband was on the home phone with the hospital. All asking the same questions, all giving us the same answers. GET TO THE HOSPITAL.
We woke up our daughter to tell her we were heading to the hospital to "maybe" have her brother and she was thrilled. I called my friend Margaret who was at our house in 20 minutes and we were headed out the door! (Special thanks to Margaret for answering her phone at 4am, getting to our house and not once even blinking, about having to be up and with our daughter at this crazy time).
We had just been to Labor & Delivery the weekend before so when we arrived, they gave us the "look" of you again...but this time I was pretty sure something was going on so I didn't care. We went into a room and I laid in bed and we waited. They did an ultrasound and the DR showed me the baby and my bladder and explained to me that I probably just peed myself and that the baby was VERY close to my bladder so it could happen without me realizing it. I explained to her that I've been peeing for the last 30 years and I was pretty sure I'd know the difference. She took the cultures in to test to see if it was amniotic fluid or not and we waited.
She came back and told me I was right (of course) and I was in labor. Then the fun started.
Somehow contractions started coming about 2-3 minutes apart but my cervix refused to open, at all. The pain was SUPER intense, don't ever let me say that contractions aren't that bad, they are awful. I was grinding my teeth together so hard that I could have bet they would have cracked at some point. The DR came in to say they had found bacteria in my urine and that there was a chance that the infection I had, had caused labor and could be spreading to my baby. Umm, REMEMBER False Labor, that had been the first sign of the bacterial infection...maybe someone should have caught that, right?
The DR's shifts switched, which meant, waiting for the new DR to come in. She came in and explained to me that I needed a c-section. Now, I didn't have a birth plan and certainly wasn't a freak about what happened during labor, I didn't even care who delivered the baby but after having a c-section last time, I did NOT want another one. Of course, I "needed" one though. I cried, and cried and cried. I explained to her that I did NOT want it and she explained to me that the infection would spread, as I waited for labor to progress, that I could develop a fever/severe infection at that point, that the blood in my amniotic fluid could be a bad sign and that I was really early to just wait and see how labor went, just in case the baby wasn't fully developed. Well, I can't say no to that. I didn't want my baby's health at risk, so a c-section it was.
Meanwhile, they bring in the epidural team. Now, the contractions HURT, badly. I don't remember the epidural hurting last time because I, maybe, just don't remember things clearly. It hurt this time and after they got the epidural in, they all said "OH". Umm, "OH" what? They said that the tube they had inserted was defective and that they needed to take it out and do the epidural AGAIN. I cried some more and more. They took out the tube and all discussed how they had never had a defective tube, EVER, before and while I was amazed and thrilled to be the "first" I just wanted the whole thing over with. FINALLY they got it in, with a "good" tube and I was able to relax. Well, until it wore off. Which it did, twice but only on one side of my body. Pain....
At this point we are only 34 weeks and 4 days pregnant, in the hospital and waiting to have a c-section, that I don't want to have. DR's are in and out and we are just waiting. In between my thinking about having a c-section and agreeing to have one, three women got in line for their c-sections before me. Now, I had to wait even longer.